Bass player Yannick Peeters is no stranger to the Belgian jazz scene, but while she has always appeared in other people’s projects before, the moment has now come for her to launch her very own project. A new band for which she was able to gather a real dream team around her, with which she can go in search of music that throws out unnecessary ballast and puts maximum effort into a sound that is as daring and authentic.

The bass player was in search of a new, more spiritual sound that can take different forms and contain strong contrasts, with elements from jazz, rock, avant-garde and impro. Rawness, fragility, lyricism, originality and integrity must be able to coexist. The musicians she invited are all personalities with a vision; creative stubborn people who won’t settle for mediocrity.

Tom Rainey is a player who swerves between avant-garde notions and a mainstream sensibility and when he plays the smell of invention is in the air”, says L.A. Times. He has performed at festivals and clubs throughout North America and Europe with a wide range of artists, including John Abercrombie, Tim Berne, Jane Ira Bloom, Ted Curson… Peeters also calls upon alto saxophonist Frans Van Isacker and guitarist Frederik Leroux, who can easily be counted among the most idiosyncratic representatives of Belgian jazz and improvisation. These are restless spirits who keep looking for new sounds, contexts and like-minded people, and are therefore the ideal partners in crime for Peeters.

Yannick Peeters (BE) – Double bass
Frederik Leroux (BE) – Guitar
Frans Van Isacker (BE) – Saxophone, clarinet
Tom Rainey (US) – Drums

Manchesterstraat 49A/f, 9000 Ghent
Jens Tytgat